On Dairy… Again

Hmmm

Dairy has always made me a little bit uneasy, but my relationship with it kind of ebbs and flows (which I talked about here). It doesn’t bother me if it’s in something, but I would never drink a glass of milk and yogurt doesn’t really work for me unless it’s mostly cereal and/or fruit. Hard cheeses aren’t usually a problem, but soft cheeses gross me out.

When I was a baby, I was allergic to cow’s milk. I’d break out into an adorable rosy, red rash on my face. People told my mom I was beautiful; she laughed and said I was having an allergic reaction. When I was elementary-aged, the thought of having to consume a carton of milk at school sent me into panic mode (because I hated it; I didn’t know then that I’d been allergic as a baby and had grown out of it by then) until the snack volunteer arrived with a special juice just for me. At home I’d eat all the cereal out of the top of my bowl and dump the full bowl of milk right down the sink.

It’s at once a taste thing and a texture thing, and more recently has been twinged with a side of ethics. But I’ve concluded, I think, that I’m not ethically opposed to the consumption of dairy. At all. I’m ethically opposed to the treatment of dairy animals (and egg layers, too, for that matter). I find the consumption odd, yes, since we are the only creatures on earth that consume milk after infancy and that we consume it from another animal’s body outside the human race. But for now anyway, I don’t think I’ve concluded that makes it the “wrong” thing to do. So I’m not vegan, but I eat that way often.

At any rate, I had to choke down this yogurt yesterday, so thick the spoon stands up on its own:

Hmmmmmmmmmm

I don’t believe in eating things I don’t like just because they’re good for me–here’s lookin’ at YOU mushrooms and cucumbers. But here’s the thing: I have this theory that my once gigantic, thick curly hair is getting flatter and flatter over time, and I’m testing to see if it’s (non)dairy-related.

Exhibit A: 2007 (Hey Glanz!)

Exhibit B: 2010

Am I right?

So here’s my question: Despite consuming adequate intakes of micronutrients (vitamins and minerals) and macronutrients (fat, protein, carbs) from primarily non-animal foods, could the source of these nutrients have an impact on something like… hair?

You tell me! (Please. I really don’t know.)

18 thoughts on “On Dairy… Again

  1. I went to go see a famed “curly hair expert” a few yrs ago at Tysons Corner Mall. i forget the dudes name. But he basically told me that there are many enviornmental and horomonal issues (no doubt birth control pills could factor in) that could cause my lack of curly hair.

    I used to have awesome spiral curls during my college years in Southern MD. But since graduation in 2004, my hair isn’t as curly. its more like wavy, and if I want it to be “good curls/wavy” i HAVE to wear it layered. whereas in college, I mostly had it all one length and it still curled beautifully.

    hope this helps.

    so maybe dairy has some effect, if you’re drinking the horomone filled kind. but who the hell knows

  2. Since I went off the pill last year, the bottom of my hair has gotten curly. I talked to my doctor and hair stylist and they both said women go through a lot of hair (and skin) changes in their 20’s because of fluctuating hormone levels from being on and off the pill, being pregnant, and other natural fluctuations.
    But there’s hormones in dairy so maybe you’re on to something?

  3. I eat dairy and have noticed changes in my curly hair too, so who knows. I’ve noticed mine seems flatter over the years as well, but mine is also super sensitive to various products, humidity and type of water–we just moved somewhere with hard water and it’s horrendous.

  4. Please eat dairy, we have a history in this family. : / sometimes a cut or layering will put bounce back into curls. You have been “parented” for the day. ; )

  5. I also wonder if it’s because I’m getting old. In high school I would just put a bit of curling cream in my hair and I’ve have perfect spirally ringlets. Nowadays if I use the same cream (or the many others I’ve tried) I get a few fuzzy, flat curls. Sad. Maybe it could be the type of shampoo/conditioner we’re using? Mine are all natural now. I ate mostly vegan for a few months but now I eat Greek yogurt and put half and half in my coffee daily. Who knows.

  6. I’d be inclined to say it’s hormonal related to age, but since curls of hair have something to do with protein (right?) and since you don’t eat a lot of the high bioavilable animal proteins, I think a diet link could very well be true too.

    • hi kath’s mom!

      that’s definitely something i’m looking at, too. my most recent nutrient analysis showed that my protein and fat intakes are actually surprisingly high considering my diet. i consider this a good thing, but i don’t know enough to determine whether or not this excess results in adequate absorption.

      i’m my own little science project.

  7. I have straight hair, but I notice it’s more or less shiny etc. depending on what I eat. People vary in how well they absorb nutrients from different sources, and I seem to absorb minerals better with animal products like dairy in my diet … it’s not just nutrient content, but bio-availability too. And people seem to vary.

  8. Katie my hair seems to be getting less curly too. Or maybe I’m just styling it differently than I did at Furman. If you figure out that dairy helps lemme know.

    I basically eat vegan whenever possible (i.e. whenever I have complete control over food available). I don’t sweat it if my fam serves non-vegan Thanksgiving dishes or ask friends who are preparing dinner to make something separate for me. I’m sloooowly getting less shy about asking if there are any vegan options at restaurants but usually I’ll just try to order whatever has the most veggies. That being said, if adding small amounts of dairy like yogurt and cheese back into my regular diet would help with the luster/curliness of my hair then I’d be all for it. Would love a future Katie’s hair update if you find something that works!

    (Ps: I love your hair in that last pic with you and Stew, even if it means less curls)

  9. I have hair a little bit curlier than yours, and I had been mostly lactose-free vegetarian for about 3-4 years until this July. My hair has definitely gotten shapelier/thicker. It’s not necessarily “bigger” but it is shinier and the texture’s different since I started eating meat. Hmm. the connection between food & body is so interesting!

  10. Ooh I love talking about curly hair! There are just ridiculously so many things that go into how curly my hair is. From hormones, to food/nutrients, to the climate, water quality, and products we use in our hair. Each day I have no idea how my hair is going to turn out 🙂 I’ve also heard that our hair changes texture every 7 years or so. For me, I had big curls when I was little, then it was just wavy through elementary school. When I hit puberty, it sprung up and as I look back, some of my favorite curls were my senior year of high school. The curls have calmed down a bit, but when I moved to Vegas from Charlotte, the curls changed again and when it’s a good hair day here, it’s a great hair day!

  11. Ohhh I have often wondered the same thing!! I agree – I am my own little science project! Since going vegan over a year ago, my hair has gotten much thinner. But it also grows faster. Its very weird. I have my phases where I freak out and believe I need fish or yogurt..eat it for a week..feel yucky, then go off of it for awhile. I don’t know honestly, but would love to hear your thoughts on it if you notice any difference. Green smoothies make my hair really nice, that is for sure. I just try to listen to my body. If you feel you need animal protein, eat it..then move on. Siggi’s is my yogurt of choice when I want it!

  12. I definitely think it’s aging/hormones. My hair was weird wavy until my mid-20s, and now it’s curly (your opposite!) But yours is great and beautiful either way 🙂

  13. I wish I had your hair! Mine is curly too, but it seems to be out of control. Perhaps I haven’t found the right cut yet? When I was little it was pin straight – barretts would fall out – then around 15 I cut it really short and when I let it grow out again in late high school it came back with curls. I’m guessing it’s hormonal changes. I haven’t noticed any difference with foods though. I’m still trying to find a cut/style and products that I like. Right now it just drives me crazy. Any tips?

Leave a comment