Redefining Healthy

I absolutely call this healthy behavior.

If you’re new here… welcome! As the rest of you may know, I am completing a Masters in Human Nutrition and studying to become a Registered Dietitian. I am excited about it. I am frustrated with it. I am burdened by it. But mostly… I’m fascinated by it.

Yesterday an RD at the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control spoke to my class. I thought she was brilliant. She was radiant and intelligent and passionate. She told us that now is one of the best times to be entering the field of dietetics. After all, we are facing a major obesity epidemic [if you do nothing else with this post, look at that link], and the cost of sustaining this way of life is, according to one of my professors, “enormous.”

Obesity-related diseases are a force to be reckoned with, and we (new, bright-eyed dietitians-to-be) are charged with tackling some pretty massive (no pun intended) problems. Like ensuring that this generation of children live longer lives than their parents (even though the odds are against us right now). And working to make healthcare costs for obesity-related diseases drop. But we’re also entering into this battle with a culture that wants a quick fix with a pill or surgery.

People seem to have the wrong idea about healthy. They seem to think it’s too hard… too restrictive… too expensive… too time-consuming. According to the dietitian that spoke to us, the solution to our problem is to make the healthy choice the easy choice.

But how do we do this? How do we make healthy easier than fast food? Easier than microwave meals? Easier than drive through windows? Easier than a pill? Easier than surgery?

Redefine healthy.

The first question I get when I tell people I’m studying to be a dietitian: “Oh! So you can help me lose weight?”

Yes, I can. But let’s not equate weight loss with health. It’s important, yes… hugely important. But if you want my honest opinion, weight loss alone will not end the obesity epidemic. Why? Because it’s a symptom of a bigger problem. Our collective weight gain as a nation (the fattest nation in the world, mind you) is a product of our lifestyle–our work ethic, our stress level, our cars, our technology–and unless we change this way we’re living, we will not put an end to this way we’re dying.

Right now, diet is a four-letter word. It’s a punishment, a prison sentence.

Redefine healthy.

People consider “healthy” to be diet food, discipline and no desserts. “Healthy” doesn’t fit the American lifestyle. It’s too slow (we’re busy!)… too expensive (we’re frugal!)… too little (we want more!). Does it make sense to solve the problem by fighting the American way of life? No! No one wants to feel like they’re being punished.

The word “diet” comes from the Greek word “diata,” or prescribed way of living. I don’t know when it came to be synonymous with restriction and punishment. But if we can get people to see health and diets as a way to live, what an easier job we hopeful young dietitians would have.

How do you make the healthy choice the easy choice in your own life? What kinds of things hold you back? How can we get our new definition of healthy to work around those roadblocks and fit the way we live?

18 thoughts on “Redefining Healthy

  1. Love. And completely agree with you. The sad obesity epidemic is why I pursued public health, and I think it’s an important time to be in our related fields.

    I loathe the word “diet” and perfer lifestyle changes b/c diet implies healthy eating and all that goes along with it is temporary. I’d love to redefine healthy and get away from thin= healthy.

  2. Wonderfully spoken!! It took me years to learn that eating low carb, low-fat frozen meals, or just salads wasn’t healthy. It also took me even longer to learn that weight loss / being skinny also wasn’t healthy. My mindset started shifting when I started looking at cooking as a hobby and not a chore. Everyone gets pleasure out of seeing something they created themselves – why not the same for food?

  3. This is such a great post! I love the questions you pose and it’s such an interesting topic. For me, it’s been all about practice and patience. I knew that someday everything would click and healthy living would just be second nature to me. It took a while to get there, and I’ll admit, it’s still hard sometimes, but we have to learn that things take time and we have to be patient to be able to achieve our goals.

  4. These are really big and important questions that you are asking. In my opinion–which is the general consensus of the field of public health right now–answering them will take collaboration between physicians, dietitians, sociologists, psychologists, public health experts and, most importantly, the public itself. I also think that is important to realize the theoretical difference aiming to change how people live versus aiming to redefine “healthy” to fit to how people live.

    *Sorry for the double comment. I wanted to clarify my thoughts a little. Love this post though 🙂

  5. Great post! I wrote on a very similar topic today: about healthy being not a bunch of prescribed rules, but what puts your body, spirit, and mind in their happy mediums. People need to stop thinking being healthy is about following dietary or exercise rules!

  6. I completely agree with every word you said in this post! It’s actually really similiar to “my philosophy” on my blog The New Healthy. And my tagline is even “redefining what it means to be healhty: one day at a time!” We have such similiar views, I think we’d get along great! 🙂

  7. “I don’t see why I can’t get this pen for free.”-Katie,age6

    You have always been able to put your point on paper. Well done.

  8. This was great. I so agree. Being healthy isn’t restricting food until the though of making dinner is enough to bring you to tears. It’s changing our mindset from a culture that lives off fast food and eats in a hurry to one that enjoys food, appreciates it, and eats wholesome stuff not because it’ll help them lose weight but because it’s how food is meant to be.

  9. As someone who is also going into the fight against obesity, getting my MS-Public Health, I agree that healthy must be redefined. Healthy for me is re-prioritizing my life, putting myself and my family forefront of my job, school, obligations, etc. It is the realization that when all is said and done, you only have yourself at the end of the day and that is enough to make me want to treat myself the best I can so that I can be there for others. That is why I plan out healthy meals, work around my schedule to ensure that I can be active, and make time for relationships outside of obligatory ones because that makes me happy. Health for me means happiness.

  10. I think the first step is to quit thinking of it as healthy and start thinking of it as good or quality or desirable. To me (and this might be inappropriate) food is like sex. Do you want what is fastest, easiest, cheapest and most readily available in either of those contexts? Or do you want something slow, thoughtful and exquisite? Turn it around from an attitude of deprivation and work to a standard of what you want/deserve. I think it cooking is a big part of it too, when I plan meals, buy good ingredients and spend time preparing them I find them so much more satisfying as a whole, even if the end product is identical to something prepared by a stranger. There’s so much more to it than just the act of eating.

    Great post, Katie.

Leave a comment