Unapologetically

Here comes a rant...

I’m a firm believer that everyone should be required to work in food service at some point in their lives. The earlier the better, as this will prepare you for a lifetime of not acting like the asshole around which the world orbits every time you enter a restaurant.

I waitressed for a bit in college… at a rib joint. I walked out about two weeks in and never picked up my first paycheck. I did it again after graduation, this time at a steakhouse. (There are no vegetarian restaurants in Greenville. Clearly.) This was a much better situation. I liked the location, the managers, the money. Damn, servers make good money. Nothing like the bar staff, of course, but probably more than I make at my “real” job. (PS – Serving is a real job. A really effing hard job, too.)

I learned quickly that I was out of place on the staff. I had just attended a 4-year university. I considered the waitressing gig temporary until I found a “real” job. I didn’t drink on the job. I didn’t eat the steaks.

I also apologized constantly. For everything. Even when someone else did something wrong. Food service is challenging and humbling work. The customer is always right. No matter what. And they think you are worthless… most of the time. I didn’t mind it though. I’m pretty good at appeasing obnoxious people. Servitude is my forte.

If I didn’t have a customer bitching at me, I was apologizing to other servers for bumping into them, for them bumping into me, for anything. Until one day I said sorry and one of the other waitresses replied, “What are you talking about? I just got in your way… and I’m not sorry. Why would you be?”

Hm. Good point. Apologizing is in my nature. It’s a reflex. I feel bad about everything. I never want to let anyone down, to mess anything up or to get in anyone’s way. I think I’m really good about admitting fault, so good that sometimes I do it when there is no fault to admit. I have a bad habit of wanting to please everyone but this sometimes leaves me feeling, how shall I say, suffocated? Stagnant? Trapped?

About a year ago I started to feel all of those things about my life. I was simultaneously overwhelmed by my new adult responsibilities and painfully underwhelmed by the monotony of the “real” world. My friends were all moving on to jobs and grad programs in big cool cities and I felt like I was going nowhere. I had some ideas of things I’d like to do but I didn’t want to upset people at work by quitting or disappoint my parents. So I sat and I tortured myself with daydreams about another life.

Eight months ago I started this blog. I saw it as my creative outlet. It pulled me out of my depression and gave me something constructive to do. It has since become a severe (but perhaps productive?) addiction.

Six months ago I realized my blog hobby could be a career if I really wanted it to be. Yes, I have a BA in Spanish and yes my job title is Brand Strategist and no those things don’t qualify me to do anything nutrition or food related. So I decided to go back to school. I applied to a Masters of Human Nutrition program (yep, the same RD program Kath is in now) and (assuming I’d get in) also enrolled full-time as a night student at the local tech college to start getting some credits out of the way.

Four months ago I was accepted to the program. Good thing the night classes weren’t a waste because they have consumed my life (and subsequently ruined Stew’s, probably) for the past 120 days. Heads up, full-time work + full-time school is a terrible idea. I haven’t felt comfortable talking about this plan because 1) my employer didn’t know and 2) the financial stars have not yet aligned for the Masters program. But what the hell, right? This is the plan for now anyway.

About two months ago my yoga studio announced that it will start a hot yoga teacher training program (like hot-yoga, not hot-yoga-teacher) this summer. I missed the deadline to apply because I knew I’d be leaving for school, but asked to be considered anyway. I got in and I plan to come back into town once a month to complete my training.

And finally, a few weeks ago I quit my job. Today was my last day.

I have felt very guilty throughout this entire process. I feel bad about leaving my job when so many other people are getting fired. I feel bad about studying or working every second of every day instead of spending it with Stew or keeping up with my friends and family. And I feel bad that, try as they might, my parents’ sound life advice fell on deaf ears. But you know what? Nobody else wants me to feel bad.

And so an amazing thing has happened. I’m not apologizing anymore. I realize it’s ok to quit or to start over or to just pause for a bit. If you don’t at least try, you’ll have no one to blame but your self because no one else will be apologizing for holding you back. Believe me. That’s all on you.

So I’m stepping out of my comfort zone (waaaay out, like into a chemistry lab) and trying something new. People do it all the time. The world keeps on turning. And for the record, my parents, my coworkers, my siblings, my friends, my cats and my unbelievably supportive boyfriend are all on board with it. It’s a little bit scary and it might even be a little bit selfish, I guess. But I am not sorry.

If you’re thinking about trying something new but feel like the world is holding you back, consider the possibility that you may be the one in charge for once. Do it now. Do it now. Do it now.

35 thoughts on “Unapologetically

  1. I worked in retail- I consider this close enough with all the angry customers I’ve had to deal with over the years. And it embarrasses me to no end when people act like assholes to servers- or when they under tip. People don’t get it if they haven’t ever been yelled at for no good reason. Walk a mile in their shoes… that’s all I have to say. 🙂

    Good luck with your next step! It’s always scary and exciting all at once!

  2. Katie! Way to grab life by the balls! You only get one chance and I love that you are willing to take a risk! I’m so excited for you!!! For the record: I was without a doubt the worst waitress in history. My tenure in food service lasted exactly 3 weeks which was probably about 2 weeks and 6 days too long. YIKES!!

    -Carla

  3. I did something similar in august. I quit my job to go run off to GA to volunteer for the fall, and I felt guilty the whole time. I didn’t want to let my coworkers down and I didn’t want to seem like I didn’t value everything I had learned there. BUT, I knew i needed to leave, and it was the best decision I have ever made in my life, thus far. period. After all the guilt, my bosses and coworkers understood, and even though I’m still looking for a real job/waiting on grad school, I don’t regret it at all.

  4. I’m so proud of you!! I think you are doing the right thing. I totally get what you mean about being apologizing in nature but you are so right, no one is ever going to apologize for holding you back. Keep it up, and I know it will all pay off in the future!

  5. I’m a chronic overapologizer too, so I absolutely know the feeling.

    Have you ever watched the British version of ‘The Office’? (I’m going somewhere with this…promise.) One of the driving conflicts was better defined than it was in the American version. Dawn (the British Pam) had a choice. She could stay with her fiancé, who she knew would likely never make her over-the-moon happy, but he was safe, familiar, and comfortable. In the other corner was Tim (the British Jim), who was an unknown quantity. There was definitely far more potential there for something much more satisfying, but were Dawn to pursue that, she’d have to give up the comfort and security she’d spent years establishing. She could wind up a lot happier or could wind up with nothing.

    It’s hard to put so much at risk like that, even if the status quo isn’t really doing it for you in the first place. I’ve never had the guts to *really* do it myself, and whenever I’ve tried taking small steps in that direction and something seems like it might go sour, I have a nasty habit of retreating back and taking months/years to work up the nerve to try again.

    So, I think it’s terrific that you’re making these sorts of moves. I had an enormous amount of respect for you before all of this, and that’s only grown in the past few weeks. There’s no reason whatsoever why you should have to settle. You’re in the enviable position that the things you’re most passionate about — yoga, health/nutrition, and blogging — could lay the groundwork for a really solid, satisfying way to make a living. I mean, this isn’t some unrealistic pipe dream…these are all things you’re demonstrably savvy about and gifted at, you’re clearly willing to invest the time, effort, and money into learning more about them, and they’re all things that are very much in demand. All of those things complement each other really well too…I wouldn’t be even a little surprised if however you’re spending your days 3 years from now revolves around some combination of health, fitness, and blogging. I’m sure there’ll be some headaches and hurdles ahead, but I have absolute confidence that you’ll plow through every last one of ’em and that all of that effort and sacrifice will be more than worth it in the end.

    This is the smart move to make, it’s the best move to make, and you will not regret this. I’m sure it goes without saying that you have a cheering section rooting for you too.

    • whoooo wants to hug adam right now?

      if ever i truly figure out what i’m doing with my life and it requires the help of a webmaster/motivational speaker… i hope you’ll be looking for a job.

  6. Congrats Katie! I enjoyed this post. Your rant on serving caught my eye. I have been serving for seven miserable years. Many customers have taken out their aggressions on me. Although I don’t appreciate it, I appreciate their money. Muahhhhhh. You will be so happy with your decision. I work full time and go to school full time. Although life is hectic, I have never been happier. Good luck with your nutrition program. Maybe you could do your thesis on mozzarella sticks that are a negative-calorie food. Just a suggestion. XOXO

  7. Should there ever be an Apologizers Anonymous group started, I’d need to join 🙂
    What amazing things are on the horizon for you! I’m totally saving this post to read as I’ve made the decision to pack up and move to a new city… although, finding a job has proved to be problematic. When people ask me why I’m doing this, I tell them that I don’t ever want to look back and regret not taking the chance and trying something new.
    Do it now… Do it now… I like that mantra! 🙂

  8. I think that’s great Katie! I can relate to being in school and working: it is miserable. I’ve known all about that for the last year. But, I think going for what you really want to do is the right thing to do, even if it involves leaving a good job in difficult economic times. I’m not sure the financial stars ever truly align when you are in school, but if you want it enough you will find a way to make all of those things happen! Good luck!

  9. That is SO exciting to read and know that you’re feeling so positively about yourself. Too many people squander the opportunity of life by settling for a job they aren’t passionate about but you realized what you love and are going for it. :mrgreen:

  10. Yay Katie! I am so excited for you and completely jealous at the same time. I can’t wait for you to get here and see what you get to make of you newly found freedom!

  11. KATIIIIIIEEEE! I’m so freaking excited + happy for you! So great that you are doing what YOU want and not apologizing. No one else can live your life for you, so you have to do that first and foremost. Worrying about others is second. I know that may sound selfish to some, but as someone who has tried to be a people pleaser all her life, I’ve learned it the hard way.

    Soooo you are definitely moving here, right? GAH, that’s so awesome!

  12. Yay, congrats on your PERSONAL career endeavors. As Jillian would say, “Women need to learn that Selfish is not a bad word.” Of course she meant that in terms of making time for yourself to work out, but you know what I mean. I’m a chronic sorry-er and people-pleaser. I’ve done it so long its ingrained in me like a reflex. When that happens, I try to remember to do one “semi-selfish” deed for myself to feel better. I also remind myself that I want to live w/o regret, so, I ask, “Did I just do/say something that I will regret later?”

    I also wanted to say that Stew is an amazing bf. I did the same thing when I quit work, and moved to Michigan w/ bf at the time and got my 2nd BS in Nursing. It was hard to be away from friends/family/support and starving from a lack of $$$, but my bf turned dedicated fiance (DF) was the biggest support I ever had. We’ve since moved back home to SoCAL but that experience was well worth it. I can’t wait to start as an ER nurse in a few weeks and DF is back to testing/writing about cars. Stew will be your safety and your crutch so if you want to apologize, start by directing it to him! He’s gonna be taking in a lot of your stress till the Masters program is done! Good luck! 😉

  13. hooray for you 🙂 tell stew im married to a doctoral student, so if he needs advice on how to be supportive while still wanting to feel very selfish, ive got great advice.

  14. AHHHHHH! KATIE! I am so so so so happy for you following your heart! I am so excited for you, and can’t wait to hear more about your journey! CONGRATS AGAIN!

  15. yay! super proud 🙂 pleased to see that you are, too, and not afraid to say it!

    yeah, and in my professional life, i’m an over-apologizer AND over-thanker. i thank people for things that i should be annoyed about, not thanking them for. maybe i just don’t know what else to say.

    congrats!

  16. Good luck!!!! GO YOU!!
    I just did the same thing a few months ago. I was a senior in college in the education program about to student teaching when one day I woke up and realized, hey, I HATE teaching! I am miserable!! I wanted out. But I felt like i’d be disappointing everyone if I did, if I quit so close to win I would be finished with school. But I did it! And you know what? No one told me I was crazy or told me that they were disappointed in me. I didn’t apologize, I just went for it. And i’ve never regretted it!

  17. This is a pretty inspirational post 🙂 I’m happy that Ralphie and Weaz are on board, as well as everyone else. Congrats!

  18. Katie — I’ve been stalking your blog for a while now and I LOVE it! You’re going to make a superb R.D. and it will just give you further credibility to speak on what you love — food and wellness. WAY TO GO on being accepted into a nutrition program! I know they will soooooo miss you at your workplace, but you’ll be doing what you love!

  19. Katie! I’ve started reading your blog via Stew’s links and I have to say…I’m totally impressed by everything you write about, and I particularly needed to read this. NEEDED. You have no idea.

    Stew mentioned you were thinking of coming to Winthrop. Keep bugging financial aid about your funding, and they’ll totally give you what you need…eventually. It takes some heckling. Good luck with your new endeavor!!!

  20. Pingback: On Being Prepared « Sweet Tater | Food | Fitness | Etc.

  21. I can totally relate about serving tables. I work full time at a university but kept my restaurant gig one night a week for extra money. It’s humbling work, FOR SURE.

Leave a comment