Inside the Pantry

Stocked

I’m excited about my pantry today because I just bought a bunch of glass jars for storing my goods. I like having everything visible and readily available so I don’t forget about it. I’m gonna need like 10 more though…

In these jars we have toasted soy sauce sunflower seeds, sun-dried tomatoes, cashews and almonds and dried apricots. The two big guys in the back have gluten-free oats and brown rice. The wee little guy in the front right is nutritional yeast. Nutritional yeast is a complete protein and is a good source of B vitamins for all your vegans/vegetarians out there. You can sprinkle it on anything.

The pantry

On the other side of the jar shelf we’ve got the processed items–sweet potato chips, granola, graham crackers and cereal. The top shelf is “the reserve”–quick cooking oats, grits and barley; extra nuts, powders, etc. And the bottom shelf has all the spices/condiments.

What’s in your pantry?

Not everyone has a stocked pantry or fridge. Check out this collection from artist Mark Menjivar for an interesting look at hunger and food through a series of refrigerator photographs.

Check them out

Visit Feeding America to see how you can help.

5 thoughts on “Inside the Pantry

  1. I’m the same way when it comes to forgetting about things – I keep the majority of my food in one large cabinet, and refrigerated goods on the left side. But there are a couple odd-balls that get completely forgotten about because they don’t jump out at me when I go to make meals! Ironically – nutritional yeast is one of the “forgotten items.”
    I keep meaning to re-organize, thanks for the motivation to just do it already! haha.
    Off to explore Feeding America and those photographs you spoke of 🙂

  2. i love all the jars in the pantry!! it makes everything look so clean and extra organized! i have a set of four that I use for nuts, noodles, and seeds – but you just inspired me to invest in some more when I update my kitchen 🙂

Leave a comment