Deep-Fried Guyday

The Goods

Let me just begin by saying… Don’t try this at home.

There is a good chance I’ll lose much of my readership for the battered and deep-fried adventure I’m about to share. Calm yourselves. It was all in good fun. For all intents and purposes, it is a lesson in what not to do. So sit back and take notes, America, because this is why you’re fat

First, some background… Last week Stew had a party. Everyone at his party brought Little Debbie snack cakes. Adam was one of those people. He suggested we do something with the mountain of leftover snack cakes. I suggested we deep fry them (truly not expecting it would really happen). Of course, Adam actually has a deep fryer. So this happened:

Deep-fried Hostess cupcake

If you want to gain weight, clog your arteries and most likely burn your mouth, this is how you deep fry snack cakes.

1. Dust with flour

Dust with flour (oatmeal cream pie)

2. Dip in batter

Dip in batter (Eggo waffle)

3. Drop in fryer

Fry

4. Eat (but really… please, don’t eat)

Deep-fried oatmeal cream pie

We made a deep-fried oatmeal cream pie, Rice Krispie Treat, Hostess cupcake, standard vanilla sandwich cookies and an Eggo waffle.

Deep-fried Eggo waffle

The standard vanilla sandwich cookie was by far the most popular.

Deep-fried vanilla sandwich cookie

And the Rice Krispie Treat was an epic fail.

Deep-fried Rice Krispie Treat

I tried a little of each and didn’t think they were terrible but didn’t think they were amazing enough to actually ever eat.

The guys were pretty pleased but also not blown away.

Deep fried snack cakes are straight gangsta

We closed out the night with a casserole of death made of Rice Krispie Treats, leftover batter, oatmeal cream pies, and caramel sauce that baked while we watched the season finale of The Hills. Yeah, I had my fun too.

Snack cake casserole

It was terrible.

So that, my friends, was deep-fried Guyday. It was great fun and I don’t think anyone ate enough of the goods to want to die this morning. All in moderation?

Adam’s house is like a McDonald’s Playplace for grown men. It’s full of musical instruments, TV and movie collectibles, piles of CDs, DVDs, etc. But I managed to find a Vanity Fair (what?) and “made” them watch The Hills with me.

Oh, and Adam gave me a deep fryer.

Ah, my very own

If you feel so inclined, watch the Eggo taste test in action.

36 thoughts on “Deep-Fried Guyday

  1. I did this once! It was fun to switch up. I deep fried sweet potatoes, avocado, pickles, oreos and broccoli. It was actually pretty good! The avocado was REALLY good!

  2. I admire your fried ambitions. I’ve had deep-fried turkey, Mars Bars, guinea pig (in Ecuador) and discovered Scotch eggs just before that. Anything is possible when it comes to a deep-fryer.

  3. seems rather insane, but unique. just love your blog’s layout. be sure to drop by mine and give me your comments 😉

  4. A) You are a legend
    B) Love that straight gangsta guy is still posing in the last picture, though the camera person is clearly not interesting in taking his picture.. i love awkward moments such as these
    C) Little Debbie is racist, see my most recent blog for more info..coincidence? I THINK NOT

    • Ha. It’s just a coincidence that I’m in a similar pose. Promise! I actually tried to duck out of the shot before it was snapped and was asked to walk back into the frame. I tried to do something goofy but kind of botched it.

  5. Pingback: Deep Fried Girl Day? « we are the REAL deal

  6. Once a year – deep fried Oreos at the city festival – mmmmm, warm, the cookie gets slightly soft and the filling creamy, sometimes you just gotta have it! Great post…. North Coast Muse @ sally1029.wordpress.com

  7. Pingback: Green Smoothie Gets Even « Sweet Tater | Food | Fitness | Etc.

  8. I am sorry to say that I have no plans to take your recipe to the kitchen, but I really enjoyed reading about your method and your pictures

  9. I have always wanted to deep fry weird things like snack cakes. You have become my hero. Lol. Can you do something for me? Please, take a slice of pizza with any topping and deep fry that and tell me what it is like. That would be so cool.

  10. Pingback: Happy Birthday Sweet Tater « Sweet Tater | Food | Fitness | Etc.

Leave a comment